Blog Block Strikes Again…

birthday-cat-pictures-3-600x460

I googled Birthday Cat and found this…

Okay, so I seem to still be suffering from my bout of blog block and I’m not sure why. I mean, there’s a tonne of things I could blog about, I had my 25th birthday a week ago (thanks to everyone who helped me celebrate it by the way. As for those who couldn’t for whatever reason, you were there in spirit.) and it was great. I guess I could write about what I’ve learnt in that time (not an awful lot, I must admit.) and get all reflective about life and the past year (it has been a bit of a chaotic one, I guess) or I could write about my thoughts on Matilda when I watched it the other day and all the happy nostalgia it brought back. I’ve tried, but neither of those things particularly interest me right now. (Though Matilda was brilliant.)

I dunno, I think the problem stems from two places. The first is that I have way too many ideas for posts and when I try to write about them, I get bored. The other is that I’m still a little unsure about the direction I want this blog to take. I mean, I really want to switch things up a bit (short stories will be coming at some point.) but I’m also wondering whether I should have a blog that’s a little more focused. (The answer is probably yes. But I like writing about a lot of different things.) Another problem is the fact that I’m working on a lot of things at once (Something that I’ve only started doing writing wise in the past year.) so I still have a couple of short stories I haven’t finished  and a load that need editing and re-writing as well as the story I kinda want to publish on here. (The first draft is finished. I just need to redraft it because I’m trying something different) I’m also trying to finish the first draft of my gorram novel which is proving more frustrating and stressful then anything. (Mostly, because I have a lot of things I want to change and also I’m a little indecisive about what direction I want the plot to go in. Curse my indecisiveness.)

funny-pictures-cat-has-writers-block

I’m not really sure why I’ve started writing so much in the past year. It might have been because I had to write a lot for my internship and I tend to find that the more I write, the more ideas I have to write about. (I guess that’s why my old creative writing lecturers meant when there’s no such thing as writer’s block.) This is the whole reason for this post I guess. I dunno, I guess having writer’s block when writing for the internet is no different for when you write for yourself, you still lose the momentum of writing every day, except with novel writing, your characters fall into the abyss and you walk around with terrible terrible guilt for weeks.

Talking about writing, I’ve started a novel writing course. It was a birthday gift from my parents. I’ve only completed one of the modules so far. But it’s been really useful. It’s reinforced some of the things I’ve already learnt from my degree as well as teaching me new things, such as not writing when I’m tired. (Which I’m not totally doing right not. *shifty eyes*) It;s also keeping my passion for writing alive (It sort of become more of a habit. Something that I have to do so that I can sleep at night.) and I actually feel like I’m learning something which is always good.

1590857-bigthumbnail

Um, also on a life related note, my housemate (Hi, Matt!) is starting a Dungeons and Dragons campaign, I’m really looking forward to it because it’s going to be interesting how everyone’s characters will play off each other. I am actually playing a female character this time which is a first for me as I usually play male characters for some unknown reason. (I dunno what that says about me. It’s just what happens to come out of my head, I guess.) I’m playing a Drow (Yeah, my DM loves me) warlock. I won’t go into the back story here because this post is starting to get rather long and rambling, and there’s some aspects of my character I don’t want the others to find out about yet.

I think that’s about it for now. Sorry for the rambling, unfocused nature of this post, I guess that’s what happens when you start writing with blog block.

One thought on “Blog Block Strikes Again…

  1. LoveandFlats says:

    I love all these cat pictures < 3

    Like

Leave a Reply

